A Little Uneven

So since I began my natural journey, I’ve realized that the left side of my hair has been really straight and flat in its natural state. I always thought that maybe there were some relaxed ends left and it would grow out. However, it seems as though the texture of my hair isn’t changing even though I have cut all my relaxed ends off and I haven’t straightened my hair in almost 4 months. I have done many protein treatments with the ApHogee 2 Minute Reconstructor to see if maybe my curls would come back on the left side of my head, but I’m not sure if I ever had curls there in the first place. Doing henna treatments has made the right side (curly side) of my head a little looser so the two sides of my head match up a little bit more, but I want to get to the point where I’ll be able to do Wash N Gos and have it look acceptable. Hopefully as my hair grows, it won’t be such a noticeable difference. Any suggestions as to how I can better deal with this problem?

 

Same day as above (left side)

April 2011 (Tightly Curly Method w/ Aussie Moist Conditioner)

August 2011 (Kinky Curly)

December 2011 (Tightly Curly Method w/ TreSemme Moisturizing Conditioner)

 

2 thoughts on “A Little Uneven

  1. And I thought the difference between the right and left side of my hair was crazy!! Do you sleep on your left side? A hairdresser told me that that can cause the side you sleep on to be thinner and not as curly, straighter when I mentioned that about my hair. That’s why TnCs are my friend! But, I can still get away with WnG because it’s more the top layer than underneath. So, I used to pull the top back to reveal the hair underneath that was curlier. Maybe you can try washing at night, allow it to dry most of the way and then set the less curly side on perm rods to simulate the curlier side. Then, allow to dry totally before hitting the sack? Maybe worth a try?

Leave a Reply

